News & Events

Types of Property To Be Taxed


The three main elements of the property tax system in North Carolina are:


1.  Real property consists of land and buildings.


2.  Personal property consists of tangible personal property or all personal property that is not intangible and is not permanently affixed to real property.


3.  Motor vehicles, if registered, are assessed according to its registration renewal date.

Search and Pay Taxes  Click Here

Surplus Property For Sale  Click Here

New Public Website

Stokes County Tax Administration

Land / Home Values

Property Record Cards


NC MyDMV/Vehicle Taxes



NC Law Changes Vehicle Tax Collections
For Vehicles Registration Renewal July 2013


Effective July 1, 2012, subject to approval by the North Carolina Legislature, all deeds submitted to the Stokes County Register of Deeds for recordation, must include a certification by the Stokes County Tax Administration that no delinquent taxes are owed on the real property being transferred.


Pursuant to  North Carolina General Statute 161-31.

Tax Rates

Tax Collections

Tax Listing

Electronic Tax Forms

On-Line Maps

Contact Us


Payment Options