)                    STOKES COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COUNTY OF STOKES                     )                    DANBURY, NORTH CAROLINA

                                                            )                    JUNE 4, 2007





            The Board of Commissioners of the County of Stokes, State of North Carolina, met


for a Public Hearing regarding the Proposed Fiscal Year 2007-08 County Budget in Courtroom


“A” of the Government Center Complex located in Danbury, North Carolina on Monday,


June 4, 2007 at 6:00 pm with the following members present:


                                                Chairman Leon Inman

Vice-Chairman Jimmy Walker

Commissioner Ron Carroll                                               

Commissioner Ernest Lankford

                                                Commissioner Stanley Smith


                                                County Personnel in Attendance:

                                                County Manager K. Bryan Steen

                                                Clerk to the Board Darlene Bullins

Finance Director Julia Edwards




Chairman Leon Inman called the meeting to order.


Commissioner Smith delivered the invocation.




            Chairman Inman opened the meeting by inviting the citizens in attendance to


join the Board with the Pledge of Allegiance. 


Chairman Inman thanked the citizens for coming out to the public hearing regarding the


proposed fiscal year 2007-08 county budget.






The following spoke regarding the proposed Fiscal Year 2007-08 County Budget:


Joe James

5692 NC HWY 772

Madison, NC 


Mr. James spoke regarding the following:


Matthew Thorpe

1573 Twin Oaks Drive

King, NC


Mr. Thorpe spoke regarding the following:


Ian Tedder

112 Ember Court

King, NC


Mr. Tedder spoke regarding the following:


Brad Cheek

1035 Dee’s Lane

Walnut Cove, NC 


Mr. Cheek spoke regarding the following:


Billy Darrell Moorefield

1115 Billy Moorefield Road

Sandy Ridge, NC 


Mr. Moorefield spoke regarding the following:


Nick Golden

1125 Briarwood Drive

Walnut Cove, NC 


Mr. Golden spoke regarding the following:


Mike Merritt

409 Trinity Church Road

Tobaccoville, NC 


Mr. Merritt spoke regarding the following:


Les Collins

1106 Trinity Church Road

Tobaccoville, NC


Mr. Collins spoke regarding the following:


Tom Southern

203 Faye Court

King, NC


Mr. Southern expressed appreciation for the support proposed by the County Manager for the proposed King Senior Center.  Mr. Southern also noted the following:


Wayne Flippin

1040 Elastic Plant Rd

Westfield, NC 


Mr. Flippin spoke regarding the following:


Gary Wilkins

8799 NC 704 HWY

Madison, NC 


Mr. Wilkins spoke regarding the following:

·        In favor of reinstating the two positions that were eliminated in the proposed 2007-08 county budget back into the Fire Marshal’s Budget

·        Presented statistical information for the need of Truck #310 during day time calls, training provided by Truck #310 and the Fire Marshal’s office

·        Saving of county dollars by using the Fire Marshal’s office for training, pump testing, grant writing, etc.


Keith Lawson

1328 Weldon Smith Road

Lawsonville, NC


Mr. Lawson spoke regarding the following:




Devin Rhodes

3834 NC HWY 772

Walnut Cove, NC


Mr. Rhodes spoke regarding the following:


P J Cash

1230 Kentland Drive

King, NC


Mr. Cash spoke regarding the following:


Randall G Patterson

2595 Mtn View Church Road

King, NC


Mr. Patterson spoke regarding the following:


Jeff Inman

6418 Westfield Road

Westfield, NC


Mr. Inman spoke regarding the following:



John Hedrick

1537 Ireton Lane

Winston Salem, NC


Mr. Hedrick spoke regarding the following:


Michael Hartwig

1260 Peach Trail

Walnut Cove, NC


Mr. Hartwig spoke regarding the following:



Kay Richey

1065 Ernest Nelson Road

Danbury, NC 


Ms. Richey spoke regarding the following:



Mike Hartley

1100 Buck Meadows Lane

King, NC


Mr. Hartley spoke regarding the following:


Phil Sutphin

PO Box 93

Westfield, NC


Mr. Sutphin spoke regarding the following:

·        In favor of reinstating the two positions that were eliminated in the proposed 2007-08 county budget back into the Fire Marshal’s Budget

·        Comments on the valuable services provided by Truck #310 and the Fire Marshal’s office

·        Services of Truck #310 needed not only for the fire departments, but also for the citizens of Stokes County


Charles Mabe

PO Box 72

Danbury, NC 


Mr. Mabe spoke regarding the following:


Kim Lewis

PO Box 706

Walnut Cove, NC


Ms. Lewis spoke regarding the following:


Tim Hall

1447 Mitchell Road

Pilot Mountain, NC


Mr. Hall spoke regarding the following:



L.G. Tilley

1085 Pembroke Drive

Pinnacle, NC


Mr. Tilley spoke regarding the following:

detailed and contain future plans such as trucks, buildings, etc for each fire department


Wayne Barneycastle

4511 NC 66 HWY S

King, NC


Mr. Barneycastle spoke regarding the following:


David Bowen

PO Box 779

King, NC 


Mr. Bowen gave this time to Mr. David Hartley.



Brad Alley

1285 Meadowlark Rd

Walnut Cove, NC


Mr. Alley gave his time to Mr. Harold Dillman. 





Mr. Harold Dillman

1072 Gene Martin Road

Walnut Cove, NC  27052


Mr. Dillman spoke regarding the following:



Ms. Sonya M. Cox


Stokes County Board of Education


Chairperson Cox was unable to attend due to a school retirement reception for employees scheduled prior to the public hearing date.  Chairman Inman read the letter submitted to the Board which requests additional funding for the schools.  (A copy will be retained by the Clerk to the Board)






            Chairman Inman expressed the Board’s appreciation for those in attendance and for


the invaluable services provided by the fire departments, libraries, outside agencies, volunteers,


and county departments.


There being no further business to come before the Board, Chairman Inman


entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting.


Commissioner Smith moved to adjourn the meeting.   Vice Chairman Walker


seconded and the motion carried unanimously.






_________________________                                  _____________________________

Darlene M. Bullins                                                    J. Leon Inman

Clerk to the Board                                                  Chairman