STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA                   )                    OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONERS

                                                                        )                    STOKES COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COUNTY OF STOKES                                  )                    DANBURY, NORTH CAROLINA

                                                            )                    JUNE 14, 2005




The Board of Commissioners of the County of Stokes, State of North Carolina, met for a budget work session in the Commissioners’ Chambers of the Ronald Wilson Reagan Memorial Building (Administrative Building) located in Danbury, North Carolina on Tuesday, June 14, 2005 at 6:00 pm with the following members present:


                                                Chairman John Turpin

                                                                Vice-Chairman Leon Inman

Commissioner Sandy McHugh

Commissioner Joe Turpin

                                                                Commissioner Jimmy Walker


                                                                County Personnel in Attendance:

                                                                County Manager Richard Morris

                                                                Clerk to the Board Darlene Bullins

                                                                Finance Director Julia Edwards

                                                                Assistant Finance Director Lisa Lankford

                                                                Vehicle Maintenance Supervisor Elwood Mabe

                                                                Soil Conservationist Tom Smith

                                                                Public Buildings Director Jay Kinney

                                                                County Attorney Jonathan Jordan



Chairman John Turpin called the budget work session to order.


County Manager Rick Morris delivered the invocation.




Chairman John Turpin opened the meeting by inviting the citizens in attendance to join the Board with the Pledge of Allegiance.





Departmental and Outside Requests Review of Proposed F/Y 2005/06 County Budget


Chairman John Turpin allowed each Department Head or outside requester to request or expressed concerns pertaining to the County Manager’s recommendation.  The Board discussed the following noted items listed below with each department or outside requester:


Mental Health – Centerpoint

CEO Betty Taylor

Request:  Ms. Taylor requested No additional funding.

for consideration

proposed fiscal year 05/06 


Vehicle Maintenance

Vehicle Maintenance Supervisor Elwood Mabe

Request:  Maintenance Supervisor Mabe requested No additional funding.



Mr. Jarrod Covington- Stokes Family YMCA

(Director Pete Shattuck until able to attend due to a prior commitment)

Request: Mr. Covington requested No additional funding.


Agricultural Advisory Committee

Soil Conservationist Tom Smith

Chairman Manley Stovall – Agricultural Advisory Committee

Request: Mr. Smith noted the Committee’s appreciation for the $5000 funding, but requested any other funding available be allocated to the line item.



Mr. Tom Gibbons - ReDirections

Redirections Advisory Board Member Brandon West

Request:  Mr. Gibbons requested reinstatement of $4000 not included in the County Manager’s recommended proposed.


 Mr. Gibbons stated that any funding would greatly appreciated.


Walnut Cove Little League/Lions Park               

Courtney Bullard –concerned citizen

Amy Flippin – President of Little League

Jennifer Martin – concerned citizen

Request:  Ms. Bullard requested reinstatement of $5,000 not included in the County Manager’s recommended proposed budget.


Commissioner Walker stated that Recreation was a very importation issue to the citizens of Stokes County and would like to see the Recreational Grant (matching up to $2000) process be reinstated into the County Budget.


Solid Waste


County Manager Rick Morris informed the Board that the Public Work Director Jay Kinney had researched the possibility of using large blocks for the needed wall at the Landfill at an estimated cost of $4,000 instead of $25,000 as requested in the proposed budget.


Chairman John Turpin entertained a motion to decrease the Improvements line item (Solid Waste - 100.4720.590) to $4,000 from $25,000.


Commissioner Joe Turpin moved to decrease the Improvements line item (Solid Waste - 100.4720.590) to $4,000 from $25,000. 


Vice Chairman Inman seconded and the motion carried unanimously.


Facility Moves


County Manager Rick Morris presented the following designated amounts proposed in the Public Buildings budget (Improvements – 100.4190.590):


§         $40,000  - Phase I – Needed Repairs in Courtroom “C” and

requested renovations from the Honorable Judge Oliver

§         $200,000 – Moving Fire Marshal and EMS to 3rd floor

§         $2,500 – Renovations for reception’s area – Administration


County Manager Morris also noted that Elections would be moved after EMS and Fire Marshal are relocated.


The Board discussed the designated areas along with the following other renovation options:


§         Possibility of grant for new garage

§         Prison Camp

§         King Clinic



County Attorney Jonathan Jordan

Request:  Attorney Jordan requested No additional funding.


                County Attorney Jordan discussed the following:

§         Proposed contract – 6 months

§         Possibility of a DSS full time attorney

§         Current year 60% DSS and 40% other departments

§         Advantages of a DSS in-house attorney




Commissioner Joe Turpin moved to adjourn the budget work session. 


Commissioner Joe Turpin withdrew his motion.


The Board continued the discussion of the Legal Department requested allocation.


There being no further business to come before the Board, Chairman John Turpin entertained a motion to adjourn the budget work session.


Commissioner McHugh moved to adjourn the budget work session.   


Commissioner Joe Turpin seconded and the motion carried unanimously.




_________________________                                  _____________________________

Darlene M. Bullins                                                    John M. Turpin

Clerk to the Board                                                    Chairman